URSS win at 81 is career first for Johnson

first_imgLast season’s touring rookie of the year went on to claim the first sprint car victory of his young career with Carney settling for second. J.D. Johnson came home third while Shane Sundquist and two-time and defending tour champion Zach Blurton rounded out the top five.  By David Smith Jr., OKTidbits PARK CITY, Kan. (June 7) – Third-generation driver Kyler Johnson took advantage of his front row starting position and led flag-to-flag to claim his first career Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series feature Sunday night at 81 Speedway.  The URSS will now set its sights on RPM Speedway in Hays, Kan., this Saturday and Sunday night, June 13-14 for the annual Mike Hughes Memorial Sunflower Classic. Kyler Johnson captured his career-first United Rebel Sprint Series victory Sunday at 81 Speedway. (Photo by Darrin McKim)center_img Johnson, son of former URSS competitor C.J. Johnson, kept the field behind him before entering lapped traffic on lap nine. Carney closed the deficit yet Johnson made quick work of slower cars and stayed out front from there. Johnson and John Carney started on the front row for the 25-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature with Johnson taking the lead as the green flag fell.  Feature results – 1. Kyler Johnson; 2. John Carney; 3. J.D. Johnson; 4. Shane Sundquist; 5. Zach Blurton; 6. Jeremy Huish; 7. Luke Cranston; 8. Ray Seemann; 9. Steven Richardson; 10. Taylor Velasquez; 11. Jed Werner; 12. Tyler Drueke; 13. Ty Williams; 14. Howard Van Dyke; 15. Brian Herbert; 16. Monty Ferriera; 17. Jordan Knight; 18. Tyler Knight; 19. Brett Becker; 20. Cody Lampe; 21. Kaden Taylor; 22. Eric Matthews; 23. Cale Cozad.last_img