Denham Town drub St Mary’s College

first_imgDenham Town High drubbed St Mary’s College 5-0 in the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/FLOW Manning Cup competition Group C football match at Edward Seaga Sports Complex in West Kingston yesterday. The win pushed Denham Town onto nine points in second place, just three points behind the group leaders Kingston College. Elvin James opened the scoring when he netted in 10th minute. Other scorers were Jamar Brown (62nd), Kimmarley Balls (69th), Akeem Aarons (79th) and Malik Goldson (82nd). Denham Town were clearly the better team on the day. They totally dominated as St Mary’s College were outclassed. James, with his first Manning Cup goal in two seasons, was elated to lead his team to victory. “This is the first goal for me in two years of Manning Cup football. It is a joy to start the goalscoring today,” James told The Gleaner yesterday. “It is a good victory for the team as we want to score goals as anything can happen. We aim to catch back KC as they are in front of us,” he also said. Denham’s Town assistant coach, Kimathi NKrumah Makkonnen, said the aim going into the game was to score at least 10 times. “Well, I am not satisfied with the overall play as, attacking, we could have done better. I was looking for more as KC is way ahead of us in scoring goals,” said Makkonnen, who took over in the absence of Omar Edwards, who is away on national duties. Omar Daley, head coach of St Mary’s College, who were losing their fourth consecutive game, blamed the loss on lack of concentration. Yesterday’s Results Kingston College 13 Ascot 1 Denham Town 5 St Mary’s College 0 Norman Manley 1 Papine 4 Meadowbrook 2 Haile Selassie 3 Jonathan Grant 1 St Catherine 1 Ardenne 2 Pembroke Hall 0 Wolmer’s Boys’ 4 Jose Marti 0 Dunoon 2 Edith Dalton James 1 KTHS 0 Camperdown 1 Cumberland 2 Calabar 0 Campion College 0 Hydel 11 St Jago 0 Bridgeport 2 Today’s games Excelsior vs St George’s College Tarrant vs Tivoli JC vs Vauxhall Waterford vs Clan Carthy Holy Trinity vs Charlie Smith (Home teams named first; all games start at 3:30 p.m.)last_img